TL;DR
Get art and craft supplies delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
UC Davis is promoting its recently renamed Maria Manetti Shrem Art Studio MFA Program, describing student funding, private studios, visiting-artist programs and a thesis exhibition at the university museum. The application deadline is Jan. 5, 2027; a virtual open house is listed for Dec. 4, 2026. The source does not provide admissions figures or specific funding amounts per student.
UC Davis is promoting its recently renamed Maria Manetti Shrem Art Studio MFA Program, which offers graduate students paid teaching positions, awards and fellowships, private studio space, and a thesis exhibition at the university’s art museum. The program’s stated application deadline is Jan. 5, 2027, with a virtual open house scheduled for Dec. 4, 2026.
The program is supported by a $14 million endowment from Maria Manetti Shrem, according to the announcement. UC Davis says incoming graduate students can receive financial support through paid teaching assistant positions, awards and fellowships. The announcement does not specify award amounts, eligibility rules, or how many students receive each form of support.
Students are offered spacious private studios and opportunities to work with faculty and visiting artists. The university describes the MFA as combining intensive studio practice with interdisciplinary research across UC Davis. Its curriculum is intended to prepare graduates for public-facing work in the arts, including arts education, exhibitions and curatorial practice, and community-based projects.
The two-year program concludes with a thesis exhibition at the Jan Shrem and Maria Manetti Shrem Museum of Art. UC Davis also identifies three visiting-artist programs: The California Studio, the Betty Jean and Wayne Thiebaud Lecture, and the Visiting Artist Lectures Series. Recent speakers named in the announcement include artists Njideka Akunyili Crosby, Xu Bing and Wangechi Mutu, and curator Cecilia Alemani.
Funding and Museum Exhibition Access
The announcement sets out the resources and public-facing opportunities prospective students can weigh when choosing a graduate art program. Paid teaching positions and fellowships may help students meet the costs of study, while private studios and access to artists and scholars support sustained work and exchange. The source, however, gives no per-student funding figures, so applicants cannot use it alone to estimate the net cost of attendance.
A thesis exhibition at the university museum gives students a formal public presentation at the end of the two-year course. The program also names arts education, curatorial work and community-based practice among the professional areas its curriculum seeks to support. These details describe the university’s stated aims; the announcement does not report graduate employment outcomes or independently evaluate the program.
Popular right now

Samsung QN65LS03FAFXZA 65 The Frame QLED 4K Art Mode Vision AI Smart TV (2025)

De'Longhi Dinamica Plus Fully Automatic Espresso Machine

LG 55-Inch OLED evo G2 Series 4K Smart TV (OLED55G2PUA, 2022)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
A Renamed Two-Year MFA Program
The Art Studio MFA is now named the Maria Manetti Shrem Art Studio MFA, reflecting support from Manetti Shrem, whose $14 million endowment is cited in the announcement. The program is housed at UC Davis, a research university, and presents interdisciplinary campus engagement as part of the graduate experience.
UC Davis lists partnerships with the Headlands Center for the Arts, the Dedalus Foundation, Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture, and Tropical Lab in Singapore. The announcement does not detail the terms of those partnerships or guarantee specific placements or opportunities for every student. It directs prospective applicants to the university’s arts website for program information and applications.
Admissions and Funding Details Pending
The announcement does not state how many students the program admits, the acceptance rate, application requirements beyond the deadline, or the value and availability of individual awards. It also does not give tuition, living-cost estimates, or explain whether funding is guaranteed for all incoming students or for the full two years.
The listed virtual open house is set for Dec. 4, 2026, and the deadline is Jan. 5, 2027. The source provides no time zone for the deadline or further event details beyond its listed noon Pacific start. Prospective applicants should confirm current requirements, funding terms and event information directly with UC Davis.
Open House and Application Deadline
Prospective students can attend the program’s listed virtual MFA open house at noon Pacific on Dec. 4, 2026. The application deadline is Jan. 5, 2027; applicants are directed to arts.ucdavis.edu to submit materials and check current instructions. The announcement does not give a date for admissions decisions or identify any later application milestones.
Key Questions
What is the Maria Manetti Shrem Art Studio MFA?
It is UC Davis’s two-year graduate program in studio art, recently renamed the Maria Manetti Shrem Art Studio MFA Program.
When is the application deadline?
The announcement lists Jan. 5, 2027 as the deadline. Applicants should check the UC Davis arts website for current submission requirements and timing details.
What financial support does the program describe?
UC Davis lists paid teaching assistant positions, awards and fellowships, and says the program is supported by a $14 million endowment. It does not specify individual award amounts or confirm that funding is guaranteed to every student.
Where do students present their thesis work?
The program says the two-year course concludes with a thesis exhibition at the Jan Shrem and Maria Manetti Shrem Museum of Art.
Is there an open house for prospective applicants?
Yes. The announcement lists a virtual MFA open house at noon Pacific on Dec. 4, 2026. It does not provide additional event details.
Source: hyperallergic.com
